Northern Arizona Opens Search for New Women’s Tennis Coach

Northern Arizona Opens Search for New Women’s Tennis Coach

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Northern Arizona University Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Lisa Campos announced today that a national search for a new women's tennis coach will begin with the departure of Kim Bruno, who has accepted a head coach position at Michigan State.

"I am happy for Coach Bruno," said Campos. "We are proud of her collegiate and professional career at NAU and the impact she has had on student-athletes and women's tennis. As an alum, she will continue representing NAU and I wish her all the best. Through a national search, NAU will attract quality candidates, particularly with the recent addition of the new Aquatic and Tennis facility."

This past season, Bruno led the Lumberjacks to a share of the Big Sky regular season title after going 10-1 in league play and 18-8 overall.

"I wouldn't be the person or coach I am today if it wasn't for Northern Arizona University Athletics," said Bruno. "I am honored to have had the opportunity to coach under Dr. Campos and my direct supervisor, Syed Moinuddin. It's hard to be leaving Flagstaff and my team, but life has a way of presenting opportunities that can't be passed up. I will always be a Lumberjack and I expect greatness from all those involved. Thank you for everything and Go Jacks." 

Bruno leaves NAU with nine winning seasons, nine Big Sky Championship appearances, and over 40 all-conference selections. In the classroom, Bruno's teams earned the NCAA Public Recognition Award from 2013-15.

Bruno coached for a total of 11 years at NAU. She began as the head coach of the women's Lumberjack tennis program before taking on the men's tennis program as well from 2009-13. Before the start of the 2014 season, the programs were split with Bruno taking the helm of the women's program solely.

Bruno, a four-time All-Big Sky honoree for NAU led the Lumberjacks to their only NCAA appearance in 1999. In 2009, Bruno and her teammates were inducted into the NAU Athletics Hall of Fame honoree.