Women’s Tennis Concludes Fall Season at UC Irvine Invite Day 3

Women’s Tennis Concludes Fall Season at UC Irvine Invite Day 3

IRVINE, Calif. – Freshman Nicole Perez completed a perfect weekend of singles play and the doubles team of junior Orsi Golovics and freshman Malia Wahinepio won a doubles title as Northern Arizona concluded play at the UC Irvine Fall Invitational on Sunday.

Competing in round robin play in the Green bracket, Perez moved to 3-0 on the weekend with a 6-0, 6-1 win over UC Riverside’s Angelique Corpuz. Junior Aimee Oki also tried to complete a prefect weekend in Green bracket play, but fell 6-3, 6-2 to UC Irvine’s Hayley Young. Junior Yumi Hasegawa played in the final match in the White bracket but took a 6-3, 6-3 defeat from Donna McCullough of UC Riverside.

NAU had a pair of doubles team play for championships on Sunday, with the duo of Golovics and Wahinepio victorious over Stephanie Hammel and Courtney Byron of UC Irvine, 8-4, in the Blue bracket, the top doubles flight. Oki and junior Edit Suhajda played in the final match in the Gold bracket, but took an 8-2 defeat. Rounding out doubles play, the pair of Perez and Hasegawa claimed a 9-7 win over UC Irvine’s Young and Ali Murphy.

Sunday’s play concluded the Fall season for Northern Arizona. The Lumberjacks will begin their Spring season at Arizona State on January 23.

Northern Arizona Results


Blue Bracket - 3rd Place
Kelly Lamble (Santa Clara) def. Orsi Golovics (NAU) 6-0, 6-0

Gold Bracket – 3rd Place
Kacie Wagner (Santa Clara) def. Edit Suhajda (NAU) 6-2, 6-0

Red Bracket – 3rd Place
Alex Zaniewski (Santa Clara) def. Malia Wahinepio (NAU) 6-3, 4-6, 6-2

White Bracket- Championship
Donna McCullough (UCR) def. Yumi Hasegawa (NAU) 6-3, 6-3

Green Bracket- Round Robin
Nicole Perez (NAU) def. Angelique Corpuz (UCR) 6-0, 6-1
Aimee Oki (NAU) def. Hayley Young (UCI) 6-3, 6-2


Blue Bracket- Championship
Golovics/Wahinepio (NAU) def. Hammel/Byron (UCI) 8-4

Gold Bracket- Championship
Kwan/Holladay (UCI) def. Oki/Suhajda (NAU) 8-2

Red Bracket- Round Robin
Hasegawa/Perez (NAU) def. H. Young/Murphy (UCI) 9-7