Swimming and Diving’s Gold Team Wins Second Straight Blue vs. Gold Meet

Swimming and Diving’s Gold Team Wins Second Straight Blue vs. Gold Meet

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Northern Arizona swimming and diving hosted its 28th Annual Blue vs. Gold Meet in the Wall Aquatic Center on Friday.  The Gold Team defended its title from last year's meeting defeating the Blue Team, 69-35.

The Gold Team took control early winning the first four events and holding a 26-8 edge heading into the first session of diving.  The Gold Team touched out the Blue Team in the 200-meter medley relay to start the meet and junior Krista Maier, senior Claire Ferro, and junior Kristin Jones followed with first-place finishes in the next three events.

Maier took first in the 200-meter freestyle, Ferro won in the 50-meter freestyle, and Jones took the 200-meter individual medley.

The Blue Team got a boost from its seniors with Taryn Harris and Lana Christensen bringing the team to within 11 points after finishing first and second on 3-meter.  But the Gold Team answered with five consecutive wins, four swimming events and one diving. 

Maier and Ferro picked up their second wins of the day placing first in the 400-meter freestyle and 100-meter freestyle, respectively.  Sophomore Fi Connell grabbed the 150-meter backstroke and freshman Emma Lowther took the 150-meter butterfly.  Holly Frost closed the Gold team's streak with a win on 1-meter springboard.

Freshman Jordan Burnes of the Blue Team edged out sophomore Jaclyn Branning from the Gold Team in the 150-meter breaststroke for the Blue Team's second win of the day.  The Gold Team completed its sweep of the relays winning the 200-meter freestyle relay to close the meet.

DID YOU KNOW…Three Lumberjack student-athletes were among the 37 graduating seniors that were recognized with the prestigious Gold Axe Award in 2010 for their achievements. The recipients included Jessi Jones (women's swimming), Lauren Salter (track and field) and Emy Ziemba (cheer and dance). The athletics department has produced 16 Gold Axe recipients since 2004.