Swimming and Diving Puts 12 on Academic All-WAC Team

Swimming and Diving Puts 12 on Academic All-WAC Team

DENVER, Colo. – Northern Arizona swimming and diving placed 12 student-athletes on the academic All-WAC team, the conference announced on Friday.  To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests.

“It is always great to be honored for our academic performances,” said head coach Andy Johns.  “We pride ourselves in excelling both in the pool and the classroom so I am happy for the girls.”  

Swimming and diving finished fourth among nine WAC member institutions.  The Lumberjacks had 10 swimmers and two divers earn the annual academic honor.

Seniors Rachael Foe, Jessi Jones, Lindsey Miller, and juniors Lana Christensen, Claire Ferro, Taryn Harris, and Monica Veit all earned their third-straight honor.  Seniors Meredith Egloria, Kimber Morelli, and T.J. Williams received their second consecutive selection.

Earlier this year, the Lumberjacks were recognized by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for academic excellence in the classroom. The women earned the Division I Team Scholar All-American award for the fifth time under Johns.

Swimming and diving totaled a 3.24 grade point average last fall and hold a 3.25 cumulative GPA through the fall semester.

Picture at Golden Eagle Luncheon: (Top Row L to R): T.J. Williams, Lindsey Miller, Rachael Foe, Claire Ferro, Fi Connell, Monica Viet, Head Coach Andy Johns.  (Bottom Row L to R): Kimber Morelli, Kristin Jones, Taryn Harris, Renee Rother.

DID YOU KNOW…Thirty-five Northern Arizona University student-athletes and department student assistants participated in spring commencement ceremonies on the NAU campus and were commissioned degrees as part of the Class of 2009. 

2009-10 Academic All-WAC Honorees

Student-Athlete Class
1. Lana Christensen Jr.
2. Meredith Egloria Jr.
3. Claire Ferro Jr.
4. Rachael Foe Sr.
5. Taryn Harris Jr.
6. Jessi Jones Sr.
7. Kristin Jones So.
8. Krista Maier So.
9. Lindsey Miller Sr.
10. Kimber Morelli Sr.
11. Monica Veit Jr.
12. T.J. Williams Sr.