Women’s Golf Opens Spring Hosting The Lumberjack at Ocotillo

Women’s Golf Opens Spring Hosting The Lumberjack at Ocotillo

CHANDLER, Ariz. – The Northern Arizona women's golf team opens its spring season as the host of The Lumberjack at Ocotillo at Ocotillo Golf Resort in Chandler, Ariz. The 11-team field will play 54 holes starting Monday morning with 18 holes played each day over the par-72, 6,302-yard layout.

The tournament features eight Big Sky Conference teams, as well as McNeese State, Utah Valley and British Columbia from Canada.

"We are very excited," said Head Coach Brad Bedortha. "They have doing a great job over the last three weeks since school started. We are as ready as we can be. Playing here at Ocotillo helps us because we are familiar with the golf course. It should be a good event."

It is the first of three events NAU will play on the course, including the Cowgirl Classic (April 8-10) and the Big Sky Conference Championships. The 2013 Big Sky Championship starts on Sunday, April 21 and ends on Tuesday, April 23.

"We have been working on their commitment level and decision making with the shots they are making," said Bedortha. "I want them to stick to their game plans and what they have been doing to get better. If they keep doing that, I think we will see the results."

The Lumberjacks finished the fall season ranked 129th in the Golfstat rankings, tops among Big Sky schools. NAU averaged 307.09 strokes per round with a low-round of 299. NAU is led by senior Stephanie Kim, the 2010 Big Sky champion, junior Kaitlen Parsons, who finished seventh at last year's championship, and freshman Savana Bezdicek.

Sophomores Darian Spivey and Melissa Olson will also play in the five-person lineup for the Lumberjacks in the event. Sophomore Laura Jabczenski and sophomore Susana Mejia will play as individuals.

The first round will be played Monday morning starting with tee times beginning at 7:30 a.m.

The Lumberjack at Ocotillo

The Course: Ocotillo Golf Resort, Chandler, Ariz., Par 72, 6,302 Yards

The Field: British Columbia, Eastern Washington, Idaho State, McNeese State, Montana State, Northern Colorado, North Dakota, Northern Arizona, Southern Utah, Utah Valley, Weber State.

Format: 54-Hole Tournament with 18 holes Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. There will be tee times on the first two days starting at 7:30 a.m. Shotgun on Wednesday.

First Round Tee Times (PDF)

Second Round Tee Times (PDF)