Northern Arizona

Northern Arizona Twitter

Men’s Basketball Players Named to NABC Honors Court

Men’s Basketball Players Named to NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Men’s basketball student-athletes Cameron Jones, Shane Johannsen and Eric Platt have all been named to the 2009-10 National Association of Basketball Coaches Honors Court, the NABC announced.

NAU is one of 21 teams in Division I to place three or more players on the Honors Court and the only Big Sky Conference school to have more than one player earn the distinction. Montana State’s Branden Johnson and Northern Colorado’s Devon Beitzel also qualified for the award.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2009-10 season. In order to be named to the Honors Court, an athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications include at least junior or senior academic status on the varsity team at an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA institution with a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2009-10 academic year.

The NAU program has now produced 10 NABC Honors Court selections in school history since the inception of the award. The list of student-athletes to garner the award includes Chris Ferguson (2004), Nate Geiser (2008). Kelly Golob (2005), Shane Johannsen (2010), Cameron Jones (2010), Matt Lyon (2005), Paul Meynen (2005), Eric Platt (2010), Josh Wilson (2008) and Kodiak Yazzie (2004).

DID YOU KNOW…Northern Arizona swimming and diving has been recognized by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for its academic excellence in the classroom. The women earned the Division I Team Scholar All-American award for the fifth time under head coach Andy Johns in 2010.