Northern Arizona

Northern Arizona Twitter

Men’s Basketball Trio Earns All-Conference Honors

Men’s Basketball Trio Earns All-Conference Honors

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Senior guard Cameron Jones was one of three unanimous selections to the All-Big Sky first team and the only two-time first-team selection, the conference office announced. Sophomore Gabe Rogers was chosen to the second team and senior Shane Johannsen earned honorable mention honors.

"It is a nice accomplishment for those guys," said Head Coach Mike Adras. "I think it says more about the team success to have three players honored. They are three student-athletes that deserve it."

It is the third all-conference honors for Jones, who was an honorable mention selection in 2009 and a unanimous All-Big Sky first-team choice in 2010. The Los Angeles, Calif., native and product of Los Alamitos High School has averaged 19.8 points per game, ranking second in the Big Sky and 24th in the NCAA this season. He also ranks among league leaders in field goal percentage assists, free throw percentage and three-point field goal percentage.

He is a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award to be announced at the Final Four.

Sophomore Gabe Rogers, a native of Houston, Texas, was named to the All-Big Sky second team. He has averaged 13.0 points per game with 2.4 rebounds and 2.4 assists this season while ranking among the national leaders in three-point shooting. Rogers is second in the Big Sky and Division I overall in three-point field goal percentage at 49.0 percent, the seventh-best single-season three-point percentage in school history. He has made 72 three-pointers on the season.

"It is a great feeling and means I have earned some respect around the league," said Rogers. "I am glad Coach put me in the position to perform and I have grown since my freshman year. It is a blessing."

Senior forward Shane Johannsen earned All-Big Sky honorable mention selection. The Phoenix Valley Christian product has averaged 9.7 points per game (29th in Big Sky) and 6.5 rebounds (8th in Big Sky) while leading Division I and the Big Sky in field goal percentage at 73.5 percent. He reset the single-season blocks mark and will finish his career as the top shooter in school history percentage-wise.

"It is cool and the first time since I have been here," said Johannsen of his first all-league selection. "It means a lot that the hard work and the contributions my teammates have made to me have paid off. They pass me the ball. It is a testament to this team and the hard work we put in."

Northern Colorado senior guard Devon Beitzel was tabbed the league's top player by the coaches, who selected the individual award winners and All-Conference team on Thursday. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Montana senior Brian Qvale, the conference's all-time shot blocker, was named the Defensive Player of the Year.  The Weber State Wildcats claimed the other two individual awards. Sophomore transfer Scott Bamforth was named the Newcomer of the Year. Forward Byron Fulton was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year.

The Lumberjacks play host to Montana State on Saturday in the Big Sky Tournament Quarterfinals at 6:35 p.m. at the Rolle Activity Center. The winner advances to the semifinals on Tuesday in Greeley, Colo.

Individual Honors

MVP – Devon Beitzel, Northern Colorado

Defensive Player of the Year – Brian Qvale, Montana

Freshman of the Year – Byron Fulton, Weber State

Newcomer of the Year – Scott Bamforth, Weber State

Big Sky All-Conference First Team

Player, School, Position, Ht., Year, Hometown

Scott Bamforth, Weber State, Guard, 6-2, Sophomore, Albuquerque, N.M.

*Devon Beitzel, Northern Colorado, Guard, Senior, 6-1, Lafayette, Colo.

Kyle Bullinger, Weber State, Forward, 6-6, Junior, Mountain View, Wyo.

Will Cherry, Montana, Guard, Sophomore, 6-1, West Oakland, Calif.

*#Cameron Jones, Northern Arizona, Guard, 6-4, Senior, Los Angeles, Calif.      

*Brian Qvale, Montana, Center, 6-11, Senior, Williston, N.D.

*Unanimous Selection #Two-Time Selection

Big Sky All-Conference Second Team

Player, School, Position, Ht., Year, Hometown

Glen Dean, Eastern Washington, Guard, 5-10, Sophomore, Seattle, Wash.

Bobby Howard, Montana State, Forward, 6-7, Senior, Great Falls, Mont.

Neal Kingman, Northern Colorado, Forward, 6-7, Senior, Greeley, Colo.

Charles Odum, Portland State, Guard, Junior, 6-0, Lakewood, Calif.

Gabe Rogers, Northern Arizona, Guard, Sophomore, 6-2, Houston, Texas

Big Sky Honorable Mention

Player, School, Position, Ht., Year, Hometown

Deividas Busma, Idaho State, Center, 7-0, Senior, Klaipeda, Lithuania

John Dickson, Sacramento State, 6-6, Forward, Sophomore, San Francisco, Calif.

Broderick Gilchrest, Idaho State, Guard, 6-0, Senior, Memphis, Tenn.

Lindsey Hughey, Weber State, Guard, 6-3, Senior, Grand Prairie, Texas

Shane Johannsen, Northern Arizona, Forward, 6-7, Senior, Phoenix, Ariz.

Chris Kaba, Northern Colorado, 6-8, Forward, Senior, Gary, Ind.

Trevor Morris, Weber State, 6-9, Center, Senior, Nampa, Idaho

Erik Rush, Montana State, Guard, 6-5, Senior, San Jose, Calif.

Derek Selvig, Montana, Forward, 7-0, Junior, Glendive, Mont.