Five Lumberjacks Named to Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team

Five Lumberjacks Named to Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team

OGDEN, Utah – Northern Arizona earned five selections to the Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team, announced today by the league office. Leading the way were seniors linebacker Austin Hasquet, offensive lineman Roy Garcia, and tight end RJ Rickert. Junior fullback Nick Butier and sophomore offensive lineman Jacob Julian round out the five.

Hasquet, a 2013 CoSIDA First Team Academic All-American, led the Lumberjacks in tackles with 91 en route to second team all-conference honors last season. He started all 12 games in 2013 and tied for a team-high three interceptions.

Rickert, an All-American last season, caught 22 passes for a total of 246 yards. The first team all-conference honoree played in 11 games and led all tight ends in receiving yards.

Butier, an All-Big Sky Second Team pick a year ago, appeared in all 12 games and garnered seven starts. He had five carries for 11 yards and caught five passes for a total of 40 yards.

Garcia was a unanimous selection to the preseason team. He was a second team all-conference selection a year ago, and started all 12 games for NAU – 11 of them at center.

Julian returns after amazing campaign last year. He started all 12 games for the Lumberjacks and earned All-Big Sky Second Team honors a year ago.

Preseason All-Conference Team

Offensive MVP – Vernon Adams, Jr., QB, Eastern Washington

Defensive MVP – Zack Wagenmann, Sr., DE, Montana



*QB – Vernon Adams, Jr., Eastern Washington

RB – Kristaan Ivory, Sr., Cal Poly

RB – Gabe Manzanares, Sr., UC Davis

FB – Nick Butier, Jr, Northern Arizona

TE – R.J. Rickert, Sr., Northern Arizona

OG – Trevor Poole, Sr., Montana

OG – Cornelius Edison, Sr., Portland State

OG – JP Flynn, So., Montana State

*C – Roy Garcia, Sr., Northern Arizona

*OT – Clay DeBord, Jr., Eastern Washington

OT – Jacob Julian, So., Northern Arizona

*WR – Cooper Kupp, So., Eastern Washington

WR – DeAndre Carter, Sr., Sacramento State

WR – Ellis Henderson, Jr., Montana

*PK – Brady Stuart, Jr., UC Davis

Returns – Shawn Johnson, Sr., Montana State



*DE – Zack Wagenmann, Sr., Montana

DE – James Cowser, Jr., Southern Utah

DT – Tonga Takai, Sr., Montana

DT - Dylan Zylstra, Sr., Eastern Washington

LB – Ronnie Hamlin, Sr., Eastern Washington

LB – Austin Hasquet, Sr., Northern Arizona

LB – Nick Dzubnar, Sr., Cal Poly

LB – Leilon Willingham, Sr., Northern Colorado

CB – Deonte Flowers, Sr., Montana State

CB – Deon'tae Florence, Sr., Weber State

S – Matt Hermanson, Sr., Montana

S – Tevin McDonald, Sr., Eastern Washington

P – Kyle Loomis, Sr., Portland State

Special Teams – Chad Newell, So., Montana State           


*Unanimous selection 

All-In Alford
April 16, 2015 All-In Alford
Get to Know Ryan Hawkins
April 7, 2015 Get to Know Ryan Hawkins
2014 NAU Football Recap
January 8, 2015 2014 NAU Football Recap
Family Weekend FAQs
September 22, 2014 Family Weekend FAQs
NAU Media Day Recap
August 10, 2014 NAU Media Day Recap