Andy Wilder Earns Second CFPA Watch List Honor

Andy Wilder Earns Second CFPA Watch List Honor

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Northern Arizona's Andy Wilder was selected to the College Football Performance Awards watch list for the 2013 CFPA Punter Award. CFPA is the largest awards organization in D-I college football. The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual placekicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Andy Wilder on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Punter Award Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Wilder is an elite specialist and one of the nation's top returning performers on special teams."

Wilder led the nation in punting in 2012 with an average of 46.3 yards per punt. He also tallied 25 punts of 50 or more yards during the season. For his stellar performance, Wilder was recognized with Walter Camp, Sports Network and College Sports Network All-America first team honors, in addition to Associated Press All-America second team accolades.

Wilder recently earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Placekicker Award Watch List. Wilder is one of only two specialists in the nation to earn spots on both lists.

In addition to Wilder's pair of honors, Zach Bauman, Tim Wilkinson, and R.J. Rickert were all previously selected to their respective watch lists.

Last season, NAU star Austin Shanks earned the CFPA FCS Punt Returner Award.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.