Former Lumberjack Amerson on College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

DALLAS, Texas – Former Lumberjack and Walter Payton Award winner Archie Amerson is one of 36 candidates for selection on the Football Championship Subdivision ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation (NFF) announced.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.6 million people have played college football," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a First Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,900 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's group of 76 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names."

Amerson won the 1996 Walter Payton Award, leading the Lumberjacks to their first I-AA playoff appearance. During his 1996 season, he ran for 2,079 yards on 333 attempts, an average of 6.2 yards per carry, with 25 touchdowns. His 2,079 rushing yards and 6.2 yards per carry average in 1996 are the second best total in I-AA history and his 25 touchdowns are ranked first in NCAA Division I-AA history.

Amerson played in the Canadian Football League for nine years for three teams. He retired after the 2004 season.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school's geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts.

Of the 4.6 million individuals who have played college football, only 846 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. From the coaching ranks, 182 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

Former Lumberjack Red Mirich is also one of the candidates on the ballot under the NAIA section.

The Divisional Hall of Fame announcement will take place on May 7 in Dallas.

1. Archie Amerson, Northern Arizona, Running Back, 1995-96
2. Rennie Benn, Lehigh, Wide Receiver, 1982-85
3. Carl Boyd, Northern Iowa, Running Back, 1985-87
4. Troy Brown, Marshall, Wide Receiver, 1991-92
5. Joe Campbell, Middle Tennessee State, Running Back, 1988-91
6. Bruce Collie, Texas-Arlington, Offensive Tackle, 1980-84
7. Case deBruijn, Idaho State, Punter, 1978-81
8. John Dorsey, Connecticut, Linebacker, 1980-83
9. Tom Ehrhardt, Rhode Island, Quarterback, 1984-85
10. Curtis Eller, Villanova, Linebacker, 1989-92
11. Richard Erenberg, Colgate, Running Back, 1980-83
12. Charles Haley, James Madison, Linebacker, 1982-85
13. Don Hass, Montana State, Running Back, 1965-67
14. Conway Hayman, Delaware, Offensive Guard, 1967-70
15. John Hill, Lehigh, Center, 1969-71
16. John Huard, Maine, Linebacker, 1964-66
17. Garry Kuhlman, Delaware, Offensive Tackle, 1979-81
18. Steve McAdoo, Middle Tennessee State, Offensive Lineman, 1989-92
19. Bill McGovern, Holy Cross, Defensive Back, 1981-84
20. Milt Morin, Massachusetts, End, 1963-65
21. Robert Morris, Georgetown, Defensive End, 1971-74
22. John Ogles, Austin Peay State, Fullback 1963-66
23. Chris Parker, Marshall, Running Back, 1992-95
24. Martin Peterson, Pennsylvania, Offensive Tackle, 1984-86
25. Charlie Pierce, Central Florida, Punter / Placekicker, 1993-96
26. Michael Renna, Delaware, Defensive End, 1987-89
27. Kirk Roach, Western Carolina, Placekicker, 1984-87
28. Terry Schmidt, Ball State, Defensive Back, 1971-73
29. Larry Schreiber, Tennessee Tech, Running Back, 1966-69
30. Steve Schubert, Massachusetts, Wide Receiver, 1969-72
31. Joe Skladany, Lafayette, Linebacker, 1978-81
32. Leonard Smith, McNeese State, Cornerback, 1979-82
33. Tom Stenglein, Colgate, Wide Receiver, 1983-85
34. Freddie Thomas, Troy, Defensive Back, 1984-87
(formerly Troy State)
35. Lee White, Weber State, Fullback, 1965-67
36. John Zanieski, Yale, Middle Guard, 1982-84

Football Drops Home Finale
November 9, 2008 Football Drops Home Finale
Football Opens Turf Defense
September 5, 2008 Football Opens Turf Defense