Soccer’s Andreassen and Men’s Basketball’s Cameron Jones Named Athletes of the Year

Soccer’s Andreassen and Men’s Basketball’s Cameron Jones Named Athletes of the Year

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – The Northern Arizona University athletics department celebrated the 2010-11 athletics campaign with the annual All-Sports Banquet sponsored by Campus Dining Sunday afternoon and held at the duBois Center.

Soccer’s Kristi Andreassen and men’s basketball’s Cameron Jones were named the Athletes of the Year, while Chelsea Bednarz of soccer and Zach Bauman from the football team garnered the Newcomer of the Year awards.

Soccer’s Anna Clark and Football’s Matt Myers received the Lumberjack Service Awards for their work in the community.

Andreassen, who is currently playing soccer in Norway, was named the Female Athlete of the Year. The Tempe, Ariz., native was named to the All-Big Sky first team for third-consecutive year and Big Sky Defensive Most Valuable Player. She earned numerous academic awards including CoSIDA/ESPN Academic All-American of the Year in Division I. and was one thirty candidates nationwide in women's soccer chosen for the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. She led the team with six goals, 15 points and three game-winning goals.

Jones, who was the Male Athlete of the Year, averaged 20.0 points per game as a senior, breaking the school's single-season and career scoring marks. He was a unanimous selection to the All-Big Sky first-team and selected to the Lou Henson All-America team presented by He was also a NABC All-District 6 second team selection, was a finalist for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award and played in the Reese’s College All-Star game at the Final Four.

Bednarz was the Female Newcomer of the Year, sweeping the awards for the soccer program.  She was the Big Sky Newcomer of the Year and earned All-Big Sky honorable mention honors. She totaled five goals for 10 points in her first season at NAU after transferring from Santa Clara and tied for second on the team with five goals. She also tied for the lead in the Big Sky with four goals in conference play and scored a goal in four of six Big Sky games played before her season-ending injury. She was named the Big Sky Offensive Player of the Week on October 26 and is the first NAU Big Sky soccer Newcomer of the Year since Jenna Samora in 2008.

Bauman, a Chandler Hamilton standout, earned the Male Newcomer of the Year. He was an All-Big Sky second team selection, rushing for 1,059 yards on the season and setting the school freshman rushing mark while recording the 14th 1,000-yard season in school history (11th-best single-season total). He scored 16 touchdowns on the season to lead the Big Sky and his fourteen rushing touchdowns were the second-best single season total in school history. Zach ranked among the top freshmen in the country in rushing yards per game, listing third among five freshmen in Division I to average more than 90 yards per game. Overall, he ranked 25th overall in the Football Championship Subdivision in rushing per game, second among FCS freshman and fifth in the Big Sky Conference in rushing yards per game (96.3 per game).

Clark volunteered more than 90 hours this year, working with Red Ribbon Week, Christ Lutheran and Davidson Elementary Schools, DeRosa Physical Therapy and various SAAC functions. She has also worked on Earth Week events, organized volunteers for Spring Football game BBQ and assisted the Arizona Food Bank.  

Myers helps runs a non-profit summer camp to improve football kicking skills and provide personal growth opportunities. He has worked with the Flagstaff Flood cleanup efforts, Earth Week, Red Ribbon Week, Be a Student Athlete for  a day and numerous local efforts with the Big Brothers Big Sisters, Flagstaff Family Center and Saint Mary’s Food Bank..

2010-11 Northern Arizona Athletics Distinguished Awards

Female Athlete of the Year - Kristi Andreassen, Soccer, Senior

Male Athlete of the Year - Cameron Jones, Basketball, Senior         

Female Newcomer of the Year - Chelsea Bednarz, Soccer, Junior

Male Newcomer of the Year - Zach Bauman, Football, Freshman     

Female Lumberjack Service Award – Anna Clark, Soccer

Male Lumberjack Service Award  - Matt  Myers, Football