Northern Arizona

Northern Arizona Twitter

Former Basketball Standouts McClintock and Wahl Headline Hall of Fame Class

Former Basketball Standouts McClintock and Wahl Headline Hall of Fame Class

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Former football standout Jake Crissup, basketball standouts Dan McClintock and Alyssa Wahl, the all-time leading scorer in the history of the women basketball program, and volleyball announcer Dug Tryon will be inducted into the Northern Arizona University Athletics Hall of Fame in September, Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Lisa Campos announced.

The 2012 class will be inducted as part of the 32nd annual Hall of Fame weekend, which will feature the induction ceremony banquet Friday, Sept. 14 at the High Country Conference Center and a special recognition at halftime of the NAU-Fort Lewis football game on Sept. 15.

Crissup, who played at NAU from 1996-99, recorded 327 career tackles, the best tackle total since 1984 and fifth-best mark dating to NAU’s entry in the Big Sky Conference in 1970. He was the recipient of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship in 2000, becoming the second NAU football player to receive the award and one of only 12 Lumberjacks in all sports to be honored. He was a four-year starter at linebacker and participated in NAU’s first two I-AA playoff appearances in 1996 (vs. Furman) and 1999 (vs. Georgia Southern). He was a three-time All-Big Sky selection, earning first-team honors in 1999. He also earned numerous academic honors, including two selections to the I-AA Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star Team and was a three-time selection to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team.

McClintock helped NAU to the first two NCAA Tournament appearances in school history, blossoming into one of the top centers in the nation as a senior. He finished his career as the No. 3 scorer in NAU history (1,363 points), behind only Ross Land and Andy Hurd at the time.  He was the NAU career leader and ranked  third in the Big Sky with 196 blocks while finishing as the school’s career leader in field-goal percentage (.632). He was drafted by the Denver Nuggets in the second round of the 2000 NBA Draft.

Wahl is the all-time leading scorer in the history of the NAU women’s basketball program, finishing her career with 1,678 points. She also is the leading rebounder in the history of the program with 771 rebounds, is the leader in career field goals (678) and ranks second all-time in minutes played (3,601). She opened her career by winning the 2004 Big Sky Conference Freshman of the Year Award and was a three-time All-Big Sky first-team selection (2005-07) and honorable mention choice in 2004. She was named the 2006 Big Sky Tournament MVP, helping the Lumberjacks win their only Big Sky Tournament title in school history and earn their first NCAA Tournament appearance.

Tryon will be the recipient of the Athletics Contributor Award. Tryon, who recently retired from the University, had been on staff since 1983, including a five-year stint in the athletics department from 1985-90. He has served as the volleyball announcer since 1993 and worked on game management crews since 1985.