Inside Athletics

NAU Athletics Hall of Fame

1985-86 Men's Basketball Team

(Big Sky Conference Champions)

The 1985-86 Northern Arizona university men's basketball team was the first to win the Big Sky conference regular-season title and the first to receive a bid to a Division I national postseason tournament.  Coached by Jay Arnote, the Lumberjacks posted a strong 19-10 record and was the No. 1 seed in the Big Sky Championships.  NAU received a bid to play in the National Invitation Tournament, where the J. Lawrence Walkup Skydome played host to its first postseason basketball game, a first-round contest against Louisiana Tech, to whom the Lumberjacks narrowly lost (67-61).  The leading scorer for the team was Andre Spencer and the squad included Andy Hurd, who is still the all-time leading scorer at NAU (1,533 points).  Other members of the team were Harry Payne, Anthony Ingram, Scott Williams, Stan Gatson, Steve Troyan, Terrence Sims, Jim Olsen, Antwine Murchison, David Duane, Shawn Herman, Jay Baker and Troy Betton.  Former Lumberjack standout Troy Hudson was an assistant coach.


Back to Hall of Fame Roster